mdw 2017 || day two: a day in manhattan

SATURDAY

27 MAY 2017 | My lovely friend Gwendolyn invited me to go into the city with her parents and two close friends the next day to see War Paint on Broadway and get dinner in Hell’s Kitchen. I was beyond honored to be invited, I think of her parents as my own and though she and I go months without frequent communication (the plight of two friends who go to different schools), we reconnected immediately. I will write a full review of War Paint another day, but lord help you if you do not see it !! The musical tells the story of the fierce competition between Helena Rubinstein (Patti Lupone) and Elizabeth Arden (Christine Ebersole) in the early days of the American makeup industry. The amount of talent on one stage was unreal, the costumes and set were incredible, and I may or may not have cried. I was watching a play about makeup and feminism with the stars being Broadway royalty. I do not use this word often, but I was shook.

altaltfrom left to right: meg, maddy, gwen, and myself! these were taken in line to the nederlander theater. a man asked us if we were students at FIT or “something”. we were honored.


alt

the playbill ! the typography is so beautiful that i bought a $30 tshirt from the merch stand with ‘war paint’ written on it in this lettering. lmk why i gave up on being a graphic design major. i digress.

alt

obligatory mirror selfie


alt

the beautiful birthday girl!! look at that smile! i love u gwen ur GORGEOUS ❤


We shopped on 7th Ave. before our amazing dinner at Becco.
Honest to god, that was the best Italian food I ever ate. Every waiter had a beautiful Italian accent. I felt like I had to tip the guy just for reading the specials to me. I wonder how much it would cost to hire our waiter to narrate my life in his beautiful accent. Becco sits in an absolutely precious part of the theater district on the outskirts of Hell’s Kitchen.

alt

beautiful gwen holding up a breadstick. also, how cute is this geofilter? i die. SO cute.

alt

i was too much of a wimp to try the seafood antipaso. so, caesar salad. delicious. infamous breadstick makes a second appearance. these little bad boys were addicting.

alt

BEHOLD the Holy Trinity. the chef’s pasta special. breaded shrimp and spaghetti in a spicy (?) marinara, artichoke ravioli, and rigatoni in pesto. i never thought of myself as a woman who would marry young, but i’m debating taking this rigatoni dish to vegas and tying the knot ASAP.


The day was absolutely perfect in every single way. I loved reconnecting with my second set of parents, Sondra and Archie (nicest people you’ll meet in your life!), and my old dance/theater friends Gwen and Meg, as well as meeting the coolest kid in the world, Maddy. She is 15 and is already a Betty Who look alike. Adorable. When I was a freshman in high school I was horrendous. So norm-core. I didn’t talk. Thank god for young teenagers like Maddy.

Next post will be my adventures MDW Sunday.

But for now I need to listen to Bleacher’s new album and shower and be a productive member of society. Gross.

XX,
Vic

Leave a Reply

