pride fest || june 4, 2017

Before two Sundays ago, I had never been to an actual pride parade and day-long event. This year was special to me because not only was it my first event, it was my first event where I was beginning my journey as being more than an ‘ally’ and being an open member of the community.

The day began with my lovely friend Cassidy and I missing the train because of course we still can’t figure out how to take a train two stations away. However, after a half hour combination of a drive and parking spot hunt, we caught the parade at its very beginning. It was mainly floats of small companies and organizations that were affiliated with or supported pride who played music and tossed out freebies like candy, bracelets, little pride flags, beer cozies, etc.

(Sidenote: the beer cozie was not tossed at us, but rather Cassidy, after donning an Absolut sweatband thrown at us, was signaled by a drag queen to bite the cozie out of their mouth. Iconic.)

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The student price to enter the festival on the beachfront was $5 so my friends, Catie, Jarret, Derek, Sonya, Jamie, Andrew, Autumn, Cassidy, and I all found ourselves together enjoying freebies and the cutest dogs and miniature pig ever.

Here are the photos from that day. The overwhelming positivity made this day one of the loveliest of the early summer. Everybody radiated pride, love, and support. I have never been more proud to be part of a community.

File_003(2)
catie n me!

File_001(2)

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
hamlette the pig enjoying back rubs from catie
File_004
ok but THIS DOG

File_004

File_003
so. little. gn.
File_002(2)
me 2

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
the queen of the entire parade
Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset
cassidy enjoying being a freeloader
Processed with VSCO with kk1 preset
candid of a beautiful tito’s promoter

Leave a Reply

